Espresso Makers Guide

Espresso Makers Reviews and Recommendations

Rancilio Silvia Espresso Machine with Iron Frame and Stainless Steel Side Panels, 11.4 by 13.4-Inch review

  • Rancilio Silvia Espresso Machine With Iron Frame And Stainless Steel Side Panels, 11.4 By 13.4-Inch Review
    Rancilio Silvia Espresso Machine with Iron Frame and Stainless Steel Side Panels, 11.4 by 13.4-Inch
  • Rancilio Silvia Espresso Machine With Iron Frame And Stainless Steel Side Panels, 11.4 By 13.4-Inch Review
    Rancilio Silvia Espresso Machine with Iron Frame and Stainless Steel Side Panels, 11.4 by 13.4-Inch
  • Rancilio Silvia Espresso Machine With Iron Frame And Stainless Steel Side Panels, 11.4 By 13.4-Inch Review
    How to make a cappuccino on the Rancilio Silvia Espresso Machine
  • Rancilio Silvia Espresso Machine With Iron Frame And Stainless Steel Side Panels, 11.4 By 13.4-Inch Review
    Best Espresso Machine 2018 | Top 10 Espresso Machine 2018 (Review)
  • Rancilio Silvia Espresso Machine With Iron Frame And Stainless Steel Side Panels, 11.4 By 13.4-Inch Review
    10 Best Espresso Coffee Machines 2017 | Espresso Coffee Machines Reviews | #EspressoMachines
  • Rancilio Silvia Espresso Machine With Iron Frame And Stainless Steel Side Panels, 11.4 By 13.4-Inch Review
    Rancilio Silvia Espresso Machine Review
  • Rancilio Silvia Espresso Machine With Iron Frame And Stainless Steel Side Panels, 11.4 By 13.4-Inch Review
    Steam Espresso Machines // Espresso Machines Best Sellers
  • Rancilio Silvia Espresso Machine With Iron Frame And Stainless Steel Side Panels, 11.4 By 13.4-Inch Review
    Rancilio Silvia pulling double shots
  • Rancilio Silvia Espresso Machine With Iron Frame And Stainless Steel Side Panels, 11.4 By 13.4-Inch Review
    ✅ How To Use Rancilio Silvia Espresso Coffee Machine Review
  • Rancilio Silvia Espresso Machine With Iron Frame And Stainless Steel Side Panels, 11.4 By 13.4-Inch Review
    Rancilio silvia shot
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: $715.00 $715.00 (as of November 14, 2018 9:45 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

This popular traditional style semi-automatic espresso machine is built to last. Its strong linear designed housing is constructed of an iron frame and stainless steel side panels. Built with Rancilio's commercial grade group head for excellent heat stability and premium extraction quality. Rancilio Silvia Espresso Machine with Iron Frame and Stainless Steel Side Panels, 11.4 by 13.4-Inch review Features a patented ergonomic 58mm porta filter for superb extraction. These are the same porta filters used on Rancilio commercial machines. The single boiler of the Silvia has the largest volume capacity of any home machine in its class. Holding 0.3 liters (12oz) this chrome plated brass boiler produces outstanding steaming power and remarkable recovery time between shots. The two quart water reservoir can be removed or filled from the top at anytime during the operation. The Rancilio Silvia features an articulating stainless steel steam wand that allows for a complete range of motion for steaming perfect latte quality milk. Control steaming power with the commercially designed steam knob. This Silvia comes with a 7 gram coffee scoop, a plastic tamper and two filter baskets (single and double). This is the most current version of the Silvia available direct from the factory.

Customer Reviews

Best sub-$1000 espresso machine for the home, period.

 on August 24, 2015
By Rob N.
With maybe the exception of the Expobar Office which sits right at the top of the limit, in the sub-$1000 price range, the Rancilio Silvia should be your only choice for a home espresso machine. Silvia is built like a tank. Treat it well, keep it clean, and it will last you for years.

I’d buy another one!

 on June 18, 2016
By saena
I am finally writing a review on it after using it for 4 years. We use this machine 5-6times a week, to make 3-4 espresso drinks per day. Yet, it is running very well, making creamy, commercial grade espresso everytime. FYI, we do have rancilio silvia grinder. It is quite expensive but it’s well worth the price. I understand that this espresso machine can be finicky but once you get used to it you will be okay.To give a little tip, the temp may go up a bit too high after you use the steamer to steam milk. If you pull an espresso shot right after using the steamer, the machine will yield unstable espresso. Instead, turn on the espresso button and let the water run for about 10 sec and let all the steam come out before pulling an espresso. I dont usually have to do this when I don’t use the steamer.

Great coffee for the home enthusiast and worth every effort to learn!

 on January 19, 2018
By MFarrington
Ok, so I spend WAY too much money at the coffee shop. $5-6 per visit at my local shop, but why waste the money? I first started learning how to make ‘proper’ coffee back in 2013 with a DeLonghi Retro Bar32 that I picked up for about $75. Knowing very little, I initially struggled to figure out how to pull a good shot of espresso that wasn’t watery or bitter. Most pre-ground coffee didn’t work; but the experience did teach me how to operate a semi-manual machine, how to heat up the boiler, steam milk etc. etc. My biggest gripe was the milk steamer which didn’t get me that nice microfoam and tended to make the milk more watery than anything.

Requires $upplemental equipment to earn the raves.

 on June 1, 2018
By John Skvir
This unit replaces my first Sylvia which lasted 19 years of daily morning use for the two of us. Like its predecessor it is capable of making espresso that equals your favorite Italian café but only if you add 2 rather expensive items, have the curiosity and patience to tolerate a learning curve and the ability to tinker with the internals (easy if you can follow simple directions). These items are a burr grinder and an Auber PID. Some vendors sell a model with the PID already installed (worth it for the technophobe). Too much for you? Then find another machine. This version has some insulation wrapped around the boiler which A. will likely extend its life since the old one died due to wiring insulation that was roasted to brittleness and B. makes the PID more necessary since “temperature surfing” is more difficult with the slower cycling of the heating element due to better heat retention. That being said the steel frame and (real) stainless steel cladding combine to make a handsome and durable appliance that you will appreciate for years.

My Second Silvia

 on March 23, 2017
By JohnInNC
This is my second Rancilio Silvia. My previous unit is a V1 that I bought used. It’s still running strong, but I wanted to treat myself to a new unit. The Racilio Silvia is a sturdy machine, built with stainless steel, and commercial parts. I would give 5 stars if it weren’t for a few design issues. Obviously they aren’t too bad since I bought another Silvia.

I am very happy. I confess I was scared to use it …

 on January 6, 2016
By Sherri C.
I have wanted the Rancilio Silvia since I first read rave review about it a couple years ago. Now that I finally have one, I am very happy. I confess I was scared to use it at first, because I had no idea how to unpack its power. After a couple failed frothing moments, and a complete mess of loading the portafilter, I finally watched some YouTube videos. The day I extracted my first good shot was a sweet day. I was able to make a cappuccino last night that rivaled some tasty times at Peets, which is really important to me, because I have no Peets in my town. The Rancilio Silvia is a high quality machine that you can use to make great drinks once you get technique down.

First off out of the box don’t expect perfect shots if you never made coffee with a real …

 on July 16, 2015
By goodrat
Had to give this the old college try before reviewing. First off out of the box don’t expect perfect shots if you never made coffee with a real machine. It does take some practice. Even with a coffee background I still had to get to know the machine, what grind works best and whatnot.

This machine is fantastic and easy to use

 on July 12, 2014
By Michael L.
I worked at a coffee chain in college so I had a minimal passing familiarity with making espresso. That’s all the training I needed, and even if you never made espresso before, it’s not hard (if I can do it, you can do it). This machine is fantastic and easy to use. Quality of coffee is top-notch with a little practice — you could do worse with a cheaper machine, or you could pay more for something more automatic, but you won’t get better espresso. You will want to get a good burr grinder. When I’m super lazy, I make a generous double shot (americano-esque) and pour it into microwaved milk, and it’s a killer cafe au lait in ~3 minutes — including the time to warm up the machine. When I want straight-up espresso I’m a little more careful about everything (length of the shot ~17 seconds, blah blah), and this machine works beautifully.

Buyer beware!

 on February 7, 2018
By Amazon Customer
This machine is not an easy thing to get to know. This isn’t a machine that has any intuitive controls or any user friendly directions. This is a machine that takes trial and error, research, lots of time and money to spend, and a bit of an OCD person who’s willing to try and try again until they reach perfection. If you are that person, this machine is for you. With plenty of time and effort, this machine is capable of creating excellent espresso with a great taste and delicious crema. Good luck!

Related Rancilio Silvia Espresso Machine with Iron Frame and Stainless Steel Side Panels, 11.4 by 13.4-Inch review Videos

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.