Espresso Makers Guide

Espresso Makers Reviews and Recommendations

Gaggia Anima Prestige Automatic Coffee Machine, Super Automatic Frothing for Latte, Macchiato, Cappuccino and Espresso Drinks with Programmable Options review

  • Review: Gaggia Anima Prestige Espresso Machine
  • Gaggia Anima Prestige Automatic Coffee Machine for Latte, Macchiato, Cappuccino and Espresso
  • Gaggia Titanium Super-Automatic Espresso Machine
  • Gaggia Anima Prestige Automatic Coffee Machine, Super Automatic Frothing for Latte, Macchiato
  • Gaggia Anima Prestige Automatic Coffee Machine, Super Automatic Frothing for Latte, Macchiato
  • Top 5 Best Coffee Machine 2019
  • 👍 Gaggia RI8762 Anima Prestige Super Automatic Coffee Machine
  • Gaggia Accademia Super Automatic Espresso Machine
  • ❥☕the ten best Super Automatic Espresso Machines review
  • Compare: Gaggia Anima Deluxe and Jura Impressa F50 Classic
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: $899.00 $899.00 (as of March 26, 2019 8:05 am – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

The Gaggia Anima Prestige has the distinction of being the fully one-touch machine in Gaggia’s Anima series. Like the Anima and the Deluxe, the Prestige has programmable buttons, yet what sets it apart is the auto-frothing milk carafe.

INTEGRATED MILK CARAFE: Specialty milk drinks can be made at the push of a button with an integrated milk carafe and auto-cappuccino system. The double chambered carafe locks into the front of the machine to froth and dispense milk directly into your cup. When the milk carafe is removed, there is a hot water spout that can be attached in its place to dispense water for drinks like cafe Americanos and hot tea.

SLEEK DESIGN: The Anima Prestige features stainless steel front paneling for a modern style that incorporates classic Gaggia flare for a truly timeless design, has a slim profile (less than 9 inches wide), and a simple and intuitive programming menu.

PROGRAMMABLE: Each individual drink button on the Gaggia Anima Prestige can be programmed with your preferred beverage volume, strength, and temperature (Min/177.5 °F, Med/182.9 °F, Max/184.5 °F). For additional control over the brewing process, you can also program pre-infusion to gently moisturize the coffee grounds prior to brewing. These settings can all be saved for future use at the touch of a button.

LARGE CAPACITY: The Anima Prestige has a 60oz removable water reservoir and an 8.8oz bean hopper. The drip tray can hold up to 24oz of water and the internal dreg bin can hold up to 15 pucks of spent coffee.

EASY MAINTENANCE: The machine features a removable brew unit as well as an automatic rinse and descale cycle. The integrated milk carafe uses an automatic cleaning cycle to keep the milk circuit clean.

LOW-ENERGY STANDBY MODE: After one hour of idle time, the Anima Prestige will enter a low energy (-1 W) standby mode to reduce power consumption.

Customer Reviews

Automatically grind, brew and pour

 on December 12, 2015
By MarkM007
I researched long and hard before buying this fully automatic espresso machine. I read every consumer review (there weren’t many since the machine is so new) and watched every Youtube video, of which there are several. Here are the reasons why I bought this one:

Back to the old grind.

 on June 4, 2016
By Mike
Just received this machine this week. Have owned a number of machines starting with some of the lower end models and finally ending up with a Saeco Incanto Sirius about 7 years ago. The Saeco has performed almost flawlessly, and it got quite a bit of use over the years (at least 5-6 pulls a day). Recently, my wife decided to cut back on caffeine, so we searched for a decent decaf espresso. Found a few, but frankly nothing could match my favorite bean (Lavazza Super Crema). Tried to use the bypass doser for regular coffee, but got a bit tiring quite frankly. So I decided to get another machine for my leaded and to keep the Saeco in service for her unleaded. Looked around quite a bit and settled on this machine. I had given a Gaggia Brera to my sister and my son as gifts, and for a $400-$450 super-automatic I was frankly amazed by the quality of the coffee that little machine produced. However, it is a small machine perfect for a small household but the small water container and bean hopper made it a no go for my house (my friends love coffee as well). I was a bit concerned about the absence of a manual frothing option (Panello wand, etc.) on this Gaggia, but the reviews I read suggested that this was not an issue as the frothing system was quite acceptable. Got the machine in and set it up to see what I had gotten myself in for. Set the grind to the finest setting and let the first shot rip. Bitter. Water temp was fine and was not over-extracting, so figured it was either the machine or the grind. Knocked it back to the middle setting and tried again. Nirvana. Nice crema, nice temp, smooth, rich tasting shot. Then I decided to try the one touch cappuccino and latte features. Started with 1% milk. Both experiments proved tremendous successes. The convenience of the removable milk carafe is a joy. Froth your milk and put the carafe back in the refrigerator. My new favorite is the latte macchiato. Thick foamy frothed milk, double shot of smooth espresso … perfect. I have never owned a five thousand dollar super automatic, and likely never will. It’s not so much the cost of the machine but the attorney fees I would incur fighting my wife’s initiation of commitment proceedings. This is not a cheap machine – $1300.00 is not chump change. But for what you get IMHO it is very reasonable. Good choice of drinks, good temps, smooth shot and easy frothing. What more could one ask? Can’t comment on longevity but Gaggia and Saeco are related companies (the brew groups look almost identical to me). If that impression is correct, this machine should provide years of faithful use. If I could change one thing I would allow a little more room for the cup to catch the foam and the coffee. After you froth the milk you have to move the cup/mug back a little bit to catch the shot. But once you spill your first little bit of coffee and understand the need for the “move” it is really not an issue. Also, the very first spurt of milk from the frother is a bit explosive, but is contained sufficiently to prevent a mess. After that it is smooth sailing. In short, I am very pleased with this Gaggia: a lot more than I thought I would be. Highly recommended.

Quality of life force multiplier

 on September 27, 2016
By Hotel Zulu
I’ve owned the Gaggia Anima Prestige for over 2 months and we use it every day, usually brewing about 4 or 5 beverages each day. Overall I am very happy with this machine. The espresso, cappuccinos and lattes are extremely consistent, day after day, week after week. This thing really is a quality of life force multiplier, and has likely saved our marriage. I purchased it largely based on what I read here on Amazon and through watching the the various videos online. I have had only one error light come on which I attribute to not pushing the brew unit in all the way after cleaning it and that was solved by simply unplugging the unit, waiting 5 minutes and then plugging it back in.

After 1year (2,500 espresso’s)

 on November 6, 2016
By Kindle Customer
History: For the past 6 years we’ve owned several Jura Capresso Coffee machines. High-end price and maintenance, they would stop working when they needed to be cleaned, and then back to the factory approved shop ($300) each time, that’s not counting postage and packaging, no matter the issue. This cycle was about every 12 to 24 months depending on usage.

Love this freakin’ thing!

 on July 24, 2016
By Barbara Cox
I was just looking around for a espresso machine that was a little easier than my Breville. I worked in a coffee shop for many years and all of the cleaning and grinding is worth it if you are doing it all day, but for one latte it’s a real pain. We started drinking more coffee and since I was relegated to making the drinks I was sick of the clean up. My old machine didn’t make a hard puck either which is a mess really. I only wanted to spend $500 or so, but the reviews were always sketchy for all the machines even$1,000 ones. I never had any issues with my little Brevile, but our other Breville kitchen items we have had problems and most were just larger versions of what I had.

A very good machine, not a 5 star just yet but close…

 on January 3, 2017
By Ron
All works great. This is my third super auto and I love them. Out of all of them this one has the hottest milk. I have one small complaint but it’s a real pain… The greatest thing about a super is that you hit a button and walk away come back and your coffee is ready to go! However with this unit you only have 10 seconds to hit the clean button after a cup is completed. So you end up waiting until the cup is done (yes just stand there), it really is a pain as I miss it several times a week and the craft starts to get dried milk build up quickly… Need a separate clean button or an option in the menu. Love the machine and have had a lot of coffee from my unit with no issues.

Makes a good shot of espresso. Other aspects less perfect.

 on January 24, 2018
By marvin
Makes a good shot of espresso. Other aspects less perfect.

Fantastic!

 on November 27, 2017
By Stacya
We bought this to replace our Delongi Magnifica that we’d had for about five years. We loved the DeLonghi, but when it died we wanted a machine that would automatically foam the milk, with minimal effort and cleaning. We’ve had the Gaggia for about 6 months and love it so far. A few comments.

Related Gaggia Anima Prestige Automatic Coffee Machine, Super Automatic Frothing for Latte, Macchiato, Cappuccino and Espresso Drinks with Programmable Options review Videos

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.